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Determining Whether TIL Restitution is Required

Overview
This section provides information that relates to the 
identification of reimbursable Truth in Lending violations, 
reimbursement calculations, and the determination of 
appropriate corrective action.

Section 108(e)(2) of the Truth in Lending Act (Act) directs 
that the FDIC shall require “adjustments” (monetary 
reimbursement) to consumers for understated annual 
percentage rates (APR) or finance charges (FC). Unless 
other statutory or regulatory exemptions are met, the FDIC 
is required to seek reimbursement and may not waive or 
grant relief from reimbursement. If an institution does not 
voluntarily comply with the law and make reimbursement, 
§108(e)(4) of the Act authorizes the FDIC to order institutions 
to make monetary adjustments to the accounts of consumers 
where an APR or FC was understated.

In general, the FDIC must require restitution when 
understatement of the cost of borrowing results from a clear 
and consistent pattern or practice of violations, gross neglect, 
or a willful violation intended to mislead the consumer. This 
parallels the reimbursement requirements of §108(e)(2) of the 
Act. In such instances, a file search may be requested to detect 
loans containing specific problems requiring reimbursement.

Historically, the FDIC has treated a request made by non-
member banks seeking relief from making reimbursement 
under the Truth in Lending Act, 15 USC §1601 et seq. 
(TILA), as an application under its regulations. The Board 
has delegated authority to the Director of the Division of 
Supervision and Consumer Protection to grant or deny these 
requests. The Director may further delegate this authority to 
the Regional Directors, but only to deny requests where the 
amount of reimbursement totals less than $25,000.

The TILA grants the enforcement agencies very little 
discretion to grant relief from reimbursement for violations. 
Because of this limited discretion, the FDIC has not been 
able to grant relief in many instances. However, should a 
nonmember bank wish to pursue a request for relief, the 
request will be processed within the following time frames:

•	 Requests that can be processed under delegated authority 
by the Regional Director and Regional Counsel must be 
completed within 60 days after receipt unless the institution 
has agreed in writing to an extension of time to make the 
determination.

•	 Requests requiring action by the Washington Office will be 
referred by the Regional Office to the Washington Office 
within 45 days of receipt. A decision will be made within 
45 days of receipt in Washington.

Legal Requirements
Section 108(e) of the TILA, which governs enforcement 
of TILA, provides a very specific framework for requiring 
agency action on restitution. Once the FDIC determines that a 
disclosure error involving an inaccurate APR or finance charge 
has occurred, and that the error has resulted from “gross 
negligence,” or a “clear and consistent pattern or practice of 
violations,” the agency shall require an adjustment unless one 
of four stated exceptions applies, in which case the agency 
need not require an adjustment. If the exceptions apply, or in 
cases of similar disclosure errors, an agency may require an 
adjustment.

There are four instances where the FDIC has discretion 
to waive reimbursement. Three of these exceptions are 
straightforward and fact specific:

1.	 The error involves a fee or charge that would otherwise be 
excludable in computing the finance charge.

2.	 The error involved a disclosed amount which was 10 
percent or less of the amount that should have been 
disclosed and either the annual percentage rate (APR) or 
finance charge was disclosed correctly; or

3.	 The error involved a total failure to disclose either the APR 
or finance charge. 

4.	 The fourth exception is the one most frequently cited by 
an institution in requesting relief. It is the one that is most 
difficult to meet since it contains four elements, all four 
of which must be met for the exception to apply. The 
conditions are that:

°	 The error resulted from a unique circumstance;

°	 The disclosure violations are clearly technical and 
non-substantive;

°	 The disclosure violations do not adversely affect 
information provided to the consumer; and

°	 The disclosure violations have not misled or otherwise 
deceived the consumer. 

Under provisions of the Act, a financial institution will 
generally have no civil or regulatory liability if it takes two 
affirmative corrective actions. Within 60 days of “discovering” 
an error (but before institution of a civil action or receipt 
of a written notice of error from a consumer), the financial 
institution must both:

•	 Notify the consumer of the error, and

•	 Reimburse the consumer for overcharges

An error is “discovered” if the institution either identifies 
the error through its own procedures or if it is disclosed 
in a written examination report. If the financial institution 
attempts to correct a disclosure error by merely redisclosing 
the required information accurately, without reimbursing 


